New Zealand Country Radio Stations

There are a number of Access Radio Stations and smaller stations throughout NZ offering excellent country programmes as well more prominent stations featuring country music. If you know of any in your area that I can add to this list, please let me know the details. i.e. Station name, D.J. and the times they are on air.


NORTHLAND REGION (Upper North Island of New Zealand)

TLC Radio Northland
107.3 FM Dargarville & 88 FM Te Kopuru
Playing at least 20% NZ content

Sonny’s NZ Show – Sunday 2 pm – 6.00 pm
Streams live on
Contact: Sonny Franklin
P.O Box 333, Dargarville, 0310

Big River FM
Box 199, Dargarville
Contact: Phil Godfrey


Wellsford Country Radio 105.8 FM
32 Rusty Brook Road, Wellsford
Contact: Robin Burton


WCCR Waitakere City Country Radio
Broadcasting TLC Programming
107.5 MKz
Contact: Peter Shaw


Radio Cindy 107.7FM
‘Top of the dial’ Rotorua
DJ: Ray Tombs
24/7 country and ageless music
Promoting New Zealand talent
Email for postal address if you’d like your material on air…. no charge

Turanga FM 91.7, 95.5 & 98 FM, Gisborne
Contact: Walter ‘The Wizz’ Walsh
P.O. Box 1224, Gisborne

The Whanau Show Broadcasting from Gisborne
Radio Turanga Fm 91.7,95.5 & 98fm
Gisborne East Coast
Contact: Lindsay Henare
Free phone -0800368872

Radio Kidnappers 1431 am & 104.7 FM – Napier/Hastings/Internet
Margaret’s Musical Moments
Wednesday 1.00 p.m. – 4.00 p.m.
Contact: Margaret Bryce
93 Masefield Avenue, Napier, 4110

Radio Kidnappers 1431 am & 104.7 FM – Napier/Hastings/Internet
MV Golden Kiwi’s
Wednesday 10.00 a.m. – 11.00 a.m.
Friday 2.00 p.m. – 3.00 p.m.
Great Kiwi music twice a week
Contact: Vyron Russell
34 Guys Hill Road, Napier, 4110

Radio Kidnappers 1431 A.M. – Napier/Hastings/Internet
2nd Sunday 10.00 am – midday
Every Wednesday 8.00 pm – 10.00 pm
Contact: Herbert Burkin
1022 Southland Road, Hastings


NZCMR – New Zealand Country Music Radio
Feilding & Marton (107.3fm) & Worldwide on the Internet 24/7 Country music
Internet based Country Radio broadcasting the best of NZ, Irish and American Music
Listen to live feed on streaming from Feilding, NZ
John de Burgh –


River FM – Upper Hutt
A local Radio Station featuring locally customised content.
Caters for all ages.
P.O. Box 40474
Upper Hutt
Phone 022 4748373


Compass FM - Rangiora
Country Corner on Tuesday night from 7.00 pm to 9.00 pm.
Presented by Ann Fraser and covers all aspects of country music.
The second half of the show is totally dedicated to Kiwi artists.
Bluegrass Unlimited Show is on Monday night from 7.00 pm to 9.00 pm and it is repeated on Thursday night from 8.00 pm.
This is hosted by Bluegrass Muso John Clarke.

Contact: Ann Fraser
P.O. Box 27, Rangiora, North Canterbury 7440
Phone 03 3117100 to speak to the announcer


Heart Of The Country – Christchurch
Plains 96.9 FM, Christchurch
Contact: Annette Mehrtens
57 Burnett Street, Oxford, North Canterbury


Heritage Radio 88.3 & 107 FM Oamaru
Send material to
Wyn Machon
5 Lowther Street, Oamaru 9400

FM Country Radio 105.2 FM – Invercargill
24 hour a day Country Music
105.2 FM in Southland, 88.1 in Gore & 87.7FM in Dunedin
Contact Scotty (Byran Scott)

FM Country Radio 105.2 FM – Invercargill
Host: Lindsay Abbott 8.30 – 11.00 a.m. Saturday
Hosts: Lindsay Abbott & Graham McCauley – 9.30 am – Midday Sunday
Broadcasting to Southland, Cromwell, Dunedin and live internet streaming
Call 03 2167111


Radio Southland 96.4 FM – Invercargill
Host: Michelle Riseley – Country Gospel Show with Michelle – Monday 2.00 – 3.30 p.m.
Host: Michelle Riseley – Country Show with Michelle – Wednesday 12.30 p.m. – 2.30 p.m.
Playing older style Country Music and NZ Artists.
Michelle Riseley –

Radio Southland 96.4 FM – Invercargill
Host: Noel Parry – Country Express – Wednesday 2.30 p.m.
Host: Noel Parry – Southern First Play – Thursday 9.30 a.m.
Noel Parry,
70m Earn Street, Appleby,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>